Beans! Often vegan brunching in this fair city can feel like one long parade of the ‘musical fruit.’ I never thought I would get sick of ’em. I did. Whoa! No need for the dramatic worldwide (really, I flatter myself) collective intake of breath vegan comrades! I’m not about to give beans the it’s-not-you-it’s-me speech. I just wish Melbourne chefs would consider concocting something a little more exciting for the cruelty-free brunch hunters among us.

That bean said, I have had some of these little legumes served up to me in some of the most deliciously rich sauces — smokey, sweet, spicy, salty, slide down your throat and warm your very soul. I have been lucky enough to stick my fork into some of the best beans in the city, so, now I reckon I’m a wee bit fussy.

That may be why the beans at Fitzroy’s all-day breakfast institution, Marios’ Cafe, didn’t knock my socks off. There are no vegan-ready dishes on Marios’ (named after two Marios, nope, not a Luigi in sight) menu but they are happy for you to build your own breakfast — hold the dairy! I ordered baked beans on toast with a side of grilled tomato. The beans were in a rich and tasty tomato sauce, the bread was generously thick and the tomatoes were sweet. It may not have given me a When Harry Met Sally moment (if you want that kind of beans experience go to Ray or A Minor Place) but it was a nice meal.

IMG_2051
Despite the lack of vegan-friendly creativity it’s worth a trip to Marios’. It is, after all, a Fitzroy institution and where else do you get to sip delicious coffee, served up by waiters in waistcoats with a front row seat to the theatre show that is Brunswick Street.

Vegan options: You can build your own breakfast. The ingredients will be simple but well prepared.
Coffee: The two Marios are very serious about their coffee. They have their own blend, roasted in Fitzroy and it’s top notch.
Soy: Bonsoy (I think)
Moola: $15.80 for breakfast and a coffee
Ear candy: A little bit o’ gypsy. Why not?

Do you have a favourite vegan-friendly Fitzroy cafe?

