I’ve been meaning to try kombucha for a long time. Kombucha is a fermented tea. The production involves making a sweet tea, adding a SCOBY (symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast), and letting the SCOBY consume the sugar to produce a drink full of B vitamins, amino acids, enzymes and probiotics. Basically, if you want to become besties with your gut, drink this stuff.

I’ve heard about its abundant health benefits and have looked at a couple of online recipes but brewing my own seemed like too much trouble. Yesterday I found some bottled kombucha in my local health food store and grabbed a few bottles to take home and try.

Image

The verdict?*
Mojo Kombucha is made by South Australian company Organic & Raw. I like it because it’s organic, raw and vegan — and it tastes great! Yesterday I tried the Organic Original flavour. It reminded me a little of beer, it tasted a little like apple cider vinegar and it was wonderfully bubbly and crisp tasting. The addition of ginger in the Ginger Tonic flavour was even better! They also have a Lemon Citrus flavour I’m yet to try.

This health elixir has been around for thousands of years and the list of benefits to your body, especially your digestion, is pretty long. Websites that sell kombucha cultures and kits report its ability to: alkalize the body, detoxify the liver, increase metabolism, improve digestion, rebuild connective tissue, reduce headaches, alleviate constipation, boost energy, and more.

If you’ve been wondering about kombucha but, like me, have been too lazy to try making your own — try Mojo. I have to say I feel pretty good knowing there are literally millions of living bacteria having a ball in my belly as I type this. Go to town little guys.

Where it at? I found these bottles at Organic Wholefoods on Smith Street in Fitzroy.
What’s the damage? I can’t find the receipt, sorry. But I think they were around $3.50 a bottle.

*any vegan product reviews found on this blog are my own opinion and have not been paid for or encouraged by the company. I simply get excited when I find awesome vegan products and want to share them with you lot.

