Sorry it’s been a while between drinks folks (of course, I mean green tea Dr Joshi). I have been too busy organising, having and thoroughly enjoying my 30th birthday party and 30th birthday party fall-out — at which I completely undid all the effort I put in over my 21-day detox.
No, not really Dr Joshi.
… well, if I’m going to be honest, then yes, probably.

But more on that all-vegan event in my next post. For now, picture me leaping (athletically) towards the finish line, Europe’s ‘The Final Countdown’ blaring in the background. As I mentioned in my last post I was struck down with a cold in my final week (so yes, imagine me athletically bounding towards the finish line with a tissue up each nostril) so I did not get to feel the same overwhelming sense of wellness I felt when I completed this detox last year. But my skin is looking lovely and clear, (before my party) my eyes were super clear too. And I lost 5.3 kilograms in total over the three weeks. So, I feel it was well worth doing.

I found the third week easier than the second in terms of craving sweet stuff or needing snacks in-between meals. Rooibus tea with soy milk and molasses became my dessert each night, but I wasn’t gasping for something sweet. My coffee alternative ‘Latte Soy Dandelions’ saved me in the final week. I was feeling stressed about organising my birthday party and I wasn’t sleeping well because of my cold so I was really craving coffee. The creamy LSDs from my local cafe Bomb saved me from caving in to a caffeine hit.

I also loved cooking with new foods or increasing normally ‘once-in-a-blue-moon’ foods. I partook in a lot of delicious kohlrabi (pictured, below — you really must get your hands on some and try munching it raw) which is my new favourite veg and amped up my sunflower seed, tempeh and pumpkin intake and loved it!

ImageAnd, of course, I indulged in alcohol, caffeine, wheat and gluten over my birthday weekend which started literally the day after my detox finished. While it was delicious and fun I am left with a swollen belly and other side-effects I won’t detail for you (because, really, we’ve only just met). So, I have decided to try and stick to minimal yeast, wheat and gluten — zero at home if possible. As for me ol’ friends caffeine and alcohol — I feel like Dr Joshi separated us in the classroom and we’ve met up again in the schoolyard whooping and hollering about our unbroken bonds and the future possibilities of such a wonderful and solid friendship.

Anyway, here’s my final food diary.

Detox Diary — Week Three

Drank lemon and hot water every morning, took a liver cleansing supplement (Asian Fusion), drank 3 teaspoons of liquid chlorophyll (Grants) diluted in 1.5 litres of filtered water each day and took spirulina. And was able to hit the gym a little, but not as much as i had hoped. Everything listed in the food diary below is organic.

Day 15:
B: 
Quinoa porridge with soy milk, chopped banana, cinnamon and molasses
L: 
A bowl of smoked tofu (Earnest Bean) cut into strips, raw sugarsnap peas, raw snowpeas and raw yellow carrots
D: 
Roasted jap pumpkin and brown onion seasoned with sumac and roasted fennel greens. Served with a massaged avocado and kale salad with onion, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, a touch of apple cider vinegar and himalayan salt
Snacks: 
Lady finger banana; carrot, celery, beetroot and ginger juice
Drinks: 
Filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

Day 16:
B: Quinoa porridge with soy milk, chopped banana, cinnamon and molasses
L: A bowl of smoked tofu (Earnest Bean) cut into strips, raw sugarsnap peas, raw snowpeas and raw yellow carrots
D: Roasted jap pumpkin with lemon juice. Served with a massaged avocado and kale salad with onion, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, a touch of apple cider vinegar and himalayan salt
Snacks: Homemade hommus with quinoa, linseed, brown rice, sesame and herbed crackers (Mary’s Gone Crackers), kalamata olives, a handful of mung bean chips (made only with organic mung beans and sea salt and baked by Spiral)
Drinks: Filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend), rooibus tea with soy milk and molasses

Day 17:
B: Smoothie with banana, LSA, chia seeds, psyllium husks, pea protein powder, cacao powder, vital greens, maca powder, flaxseed oil and filtered water
L: Brown rice miso soup with silken tofu and dulse (seaweed) flakes
D: Jacket sweet potato stuffed with broccoli, spinach, avocado, tempeh cubes (cooked in a little Braggs) dressed in a little olive oil, garlic and lemon juice
Snacks: A couple handfuls of corn chips dipped in a pumpkin and chickpea dip (Wholefoods Kitchen, just made with pumpkin, chickpeas, olive oil, lemon juice, tahini and sea salt)
Drinks: Filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, rooibus tea with soy milk and a little maple syrup, lemongrass and ginger tea, healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

Day 18:
B: Liver flush drink (to be done weekly, details in book) which must be followed by two cups of detox tea (Planet Organics blend) and then two hours of rest. This was followed with jacket sweet potato (exactly the same as last night’s dinner — the other half of the sweet potato). By the time the whole liver flush process is over it’s well past lunch time so breakfast and lunch are combined.
D: Tempeh, broccoli, cauliflower, and snow peas stir fry with toasted sesame seeds and a sauce made with garlic, ginger, lemon juice, tahini and Braggs.
Snacks: Banana, lightly salted corn chips dipped in homemade hommus
Drinks: Filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, peppermint tea, rooibus tea with soy milk and molasses detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

Day 19:
B: Smoothie with banana, LSA, chia seeds, psyllium husks, pea protein powder, cacao powder, vital greens, maca powder, flaxseed oil and filtered water
L: Was loaded with a head cold by this stage so slept in and had a late breakfast/lunch smoothie
D: Roasted butternut pumpkin with a sweet paprika quinoa, spinach, sunflower seed and tempeh salad
Snacks: No snacks needed today
Drinks: Filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, lemongrass tea, detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend), LSD (Latte Soy Dandelion)

Day 20:
B: Green smoothie with banana, fennel greens and rainbow chard
L: Brown rice miso soup with silken tofu and dulse (seaweed) flakes
D: Stir fry with tempeh, cauliflower, bok choy and kohlrabi in a vegetable stock, ginger and vegan honey sauce
Snacks: Banana
Drinks: Filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend), rooibus tea with soy milk and molasses

Day 21:
B: Smoothie with banana, LSA, chia seeds, psyllium husks, pea protein powder, cacao powder, vital greens, maca powder, flaxseed oil and filtered water
L: I was running around doing some last-minute party organising so I just munched on a packet of lightly roasted and salted soy beans (Planet Organic, these are my new favourite snack — they come in little 30g packs)
D: Stir fry with tempeh, cauliflower, bok choy and kohlrabi in a vegetable stock, ginger and vegan honey sauce
Snacks: No snacks needed today
Drinks: Filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

