So, I have managed a grand total of fourteen days so far. And you doubted me! Huff.

Despite the kind of rocky start that had my liver screaming, “ADRIANNN!” I am now finding the detox mostly easy to stick to. The first week was actually the easiest. My cravings for salty and sugary foods dropped away almost immediately thanks to Dr Joshi’s advise on dealing with cravings. I made sure I had plenty of raw carrots (these hold the kind of good sugars our body needs) to ward off any quick sugar fix fits. And I munched on purple, yellow and orange carrots to keep it interesting and boost antioxidant levels. I didn’t worry too much about salt cravings as I was eating food at meal times that was tasty and filling enough to keep me from daydreaming about potato chips. The only thing I really missed in the first week was coffee, especially when I hadn’t had enough sleep and had a big day ahead. But I made sure to drink green tea every day to keep the headaches to a minimum (caffeine withdrawal headaches did occur) and keep the peepers open at work.

I lost a whopping four kilograms in the first week, my skin was looking better, my bloating disappeared, and I rarely desired food in between meals.

In the second week I have had a less dramatic weight loss — just under a kilogram. And I think that is down to my nutsession (minds out of the gutter please). Dr Joshi has nuts on his avoid or decrease list. But I get the impression they are more of a ‘decrease’ food as he has nuts in his recipes. I eat a lot of organic nuts. They are a great source of protein, good fats and omegas for vegans. But for the purpose of this detox I have probably been having too many. So, for my triumphant gallop to the finish line I am going to cut them out in this upcoming third week and see if that makes a difference to my weight loss. Buuut my skin continues to look better and I do feel like I have more energy. I am not quite at the amazing energy levels I remember from last time I did this detox but my liver still has a week of holidays left so I have hope I will still hit that vitality level.

I have also been having a few sugar cravings this second week, but that could be down to stress. There have been a few Conscious Chocolate fantasies.

Now I know reading about what I have eaten each day will be about as interesting to some of you as reading a detailed account of my snot consistency. But for those of you who are thinking about doing the detox, it may be helpful. So the food diary for my first week follows. I will write again next week with week two’s diary.

Detox Diary — Week One

I drink lemon and hot water every morning, am taking a liver cleansing supplement (Asian Fusion), am drinking 3 teaspoons of liquid chlorophyll (Grants) diluted in 1.5 litres of filtered water each day and am also taking spirulina. And I have been running. Everything listed in the food diary below is organic.

Day 1:
B: 
Green smoothie with banana and bok choy 
L: 
A bowl of braised tofu cutlets (Blue Lotus) cut into strips, raw purple carrot, raw snow peas and raw fennel 
D: 
Saffron quinoa with roasted pumpkin, beets and shallots
Snacks: 
A banana, a handful of raw pecans, a handful of activated almonds (Loving Earth)
Drinks: 
filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

Day 2:
B: Green smoothie with banana and rainbow chard
L: A bowl of braised tofu cutlets (Blue Lotus) cut into strips, raw yellow carrot, raw sugar snap peas and raw fennel
D: Saffron quinoa with roasted pumpkin, beets and shallots
Snacks: a handful of activated almonds (Loving Earth), a handful of green pea chips (made only with organic green peas and sea salt and baked by Spiral)
Drinks: filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

Day 3:
B: Smoothie with banana, LSA, chia seeds, psyllium husks, pea protein powder, cacao powder, vital greens, maca powder, flaxseed oil and filtered water
L: Gluten free toast with avocado and spinach and a carrot, beetroot, celery and ginger juice
D: Saffron quinoa with rainbow chard cooked in olive oil, lemon juice and pepper
Snacks: a handful of macadamia nuts
Drinks: filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, rooibus tea with soy milk, healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

Day 4:
B: Liver flush drink (to be done weekly, details in book) which must be followed by two cups of detox tea (Planet Organics blend) and then two hours of rest. This was followed with a green smoothie with banana and rainbow chard. By the time the whole liver flush process is over it’s well past lunch time so breakfast and lunch are combined.
D: Tofu, broccoli, cauliflower, sugarsnap peas and carrot stir fry with sesame seeds and a sauce made with garlic, ginger, lemon juice, tahini and Braggs.
Snacks: a handful of activated almonds (Loving Earth), a handful of green pea chips (made only with organic green peas and sea salt and baked by Spiral)
Drinks: filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

Day 5:
B: Green smoothie with banana and rainbow chard
L: A bowl of braised tofu cutlets (Blue Lotus) cut into strips, raw yellow carrot, raw sugar snap peas and raw fennel
D: Brussel sprouts in pecan butter (one of Dr Joshi’s recipes in the book) and roasted golden nugget pumpkin with a little lemon juice and pepper
Snacks: no snacks needed today
Drinks: filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

Day 6:
B: Green smoothie with banana and kale
L: Tempeh on a bed of brown rice mixed together with avocado, shredded rocket, lemon juice and garlic — and sprinkled with diced carrot
D: Sprouted rye bread with pure almond butter (Melrose) and a teeny bit of vegan honey (Sweet Freedom)
Snacks: no snacks needed today
Drinks: filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, detox tea (Planet Organics blend), healthy bowel tea (Tinderbox blend)

Day 7:
B: Today I had a late breakfast at CERES organic café. They were very good about adapting one of their dishes to make it detox friendly. I had their Indonesian Eggs breakfast (their vegan version replaces the eggs with tofu) and got them to take off the sambal and the peanuts and add a lemon wedge to replace the sambal. Now there would still be some non-detox ingredients in what the tofu was marinated in but Dr Joshi insists in the book that you can still have the occasional meal out so I’d say there is a little flexibility as long as you make it as detox friendly as is possible given you are in a restaurant. Oh, and by the way, that is not a coffee in that photograph, it’s an LSD.
L: No need for lunch as breakfast was quite late.
D: Green smoothie with banana and kale
Snacks: a handful of activated almonds (Loving Earth), yellow carrot sticks
Drinks: filtered water with liquid chlorophyll, green tea, peppermint tea, two LSDs (Latte Soy Dandelions. These are available at some cafés in Melbourne. They are lovely and creamy and only made with dandelion root and soy milk but are served up as a latté so are really good for when you are missing coffee).

